How to change the location of your Google Drive backup and sync folder

If you are pressed to get storage space on your PC or Mac, Google Drive synchronization using Backup and Sync can only make matters worse. Fortunately, you can change the Google Drive folder to a different location on your computer’s internal storage or to an external drive at any time.

Here are three methods you can use to change the default location of your Google Drive Backup and Sync folder on Windows and macOS.

The first method shows you how to specify a different folder location while setting up Backup and Sync on your PC or Mac. The second and third methods will show you how to change your Google Drive folder if you’ve already started syncing your Google Drive content locally.

Method 1: Change the location of the Google Drive folder during setup

When you first set up Google Drive Backup and Sync, it will try to set up the Google Drive folder on your PC or Mac’s user account by default.

To change this, simply select the file Exchange option (which appears next to Folder location) when you get to the Google Drive screen. Then choose a different folder on your computer. Ideally, the folder should contain nothing.

Then select to sync everything to Google Drive locally, or select Sync only these folders and select the Google Drive items you want to sync. Finally, select To start.

Method 2: Exit the backup and sync it and move the Google Drive folder

The backup and sync client doesn’t allow you to change the location of your Google Drive folder after you start syncing your Google Drive content locally.

However, you can use an alternative solution, which is to leave the backup and sync client, move the Google Drive folder to a new location, and reopen the sync client and point to the new location.

Not only is it easy to perform, but you also won’t have to waste time or bandwidth having to sync files or folders again from the beginning.

  • 1. Select the Google Backup and Sync to the system tray or menu bar. Then open the file Configuration menu.
  • 2. Select Exit backup and sync and wait for the backup and sync client to shut down completely.
  • 3. Copy the file Google Drive in the new location.

If you’re having trouble locating your Google Drive folder, here’s how to get there quickly:

Windows: Press Windows+R to open the Run box. Then write % user profile% and select OK.

Mac: Open Finder and select Wow > Go to Folder. Then write ~ / and select Wow.

  • 4. When you have finished copying, delete the file Google Drive folder from its original location.
  • 5. Reopen the backup and sync client. You should be asked to locate the missing folder. Select Locate.
  • 6. Choose the Google Drive from the new location and select OK.
  • 7. Select Confirm.

The backup and sync client will compare the files in the directory to make sure there is nothing wrong. This usually takes a few minutes. You can then start using Google Drive normally.

Method 3: Please sign out of your Google Account and sign back in

If you’ve already started syncing your Google Drive content with your computer but want to start over with a different folder, you’ll need to disconnect your Google Account, sign back in to your backup and sync client, and return to set your synchronization preferences.

You can also choose to move any locally synced Google Drive content to the new location and combine it later. But if this is all you want to do, the above method is much more convenient.

  • 1. Select the Google Backup and Sync to the system tray or menu bar. Then open the file Configuration menu.
  • 2. Select Preferences.
  • 3. Change a Configuration side and select Disconnect the account.
  • 4. Select Disconnect to be confirmed. Your backup and sync will sign you out of your Google Account. However, it will not delete any locally synchronized files and folders.
  • 5. Move the contents of the Google Drive folder to a new folder in the location you want to change. Skip this step if you want to sync everything from scratch.
  • 6. Select Google Backup and Sync from the system tray or menu bar and select Sign in.
  • 7. Enter your Google Account credentials and set your sync preferences. Once in the Google Drive tab, select To change, and choose the new location.
  • 8. Determine what you want to sync from Google Drive and select To start to start syncing.
  • 9. If you copied previously synced files and folders to the new location, select Keep on to combine them with the rest of the content.

Note: Feel free to delete the Google Drive folder from the original location.

Do you want to switch to the external drive? Keep that in mind

As you can see, it’s ridiculously easy to move your Google Drive folder to a different location. However, if you ended up switching to an external drive, remember to keep it connected to your PC or Mac to avoid synchronization issues. If you want to remove it, be sure to exit the backup and sync client first. When you reconnect it, just reopen the sync client to continue syncing as usual.

If you experience synchronization issues later, here’s how to do it fix Google Drive backup and sync. It can also be a good time to optimize your Google Drive storage.

Leave a Reply