Ever wanted to send an email you just sent to someone? Outlook has a feature that allows you to remember your emails after sending them, though, and if you use a different email client like Gmail?
In Gmail, there’s a way to prevent your emails from passing after you press the Send button. However, in order to do so, you must have the Undo Special Deviation feature enabled in advance. Learn how to send your emails to Gmail and never have to worry about getting your messages back to the wrong recipient.
Why not send your emails
There may be any number of situations in which you may want to cancel sending an email after you press Send. The most common are:
- An email is sent to the wrong recipient.
Earlier, we all emailed the wrong person. You may have gotten the wrong name when choosing the recipient from your contacts. Maybe you know two people with the same name and forgot to check before sending the wrong email to Alex. Either way, you may not want to share the content of this email with someone for whom it was not intended. Especially if it contains confidential or private information.
- Accidental sending of an incomplete email.
Even if you reviewed the address line before sending the email, you may later realize that you forgot to include something in it. Whether it’s an important link, an attachment, or a few more details, it’s not always very convenient to send it separately in another message.
- Search for errors in your email once sent.
Have you ever finished your email with “delays” instead of “greetings”? We are all human and make mistakes. Spell checker it doesn’t always catch them, so you may notice some errors only after sending the message. Gmail allows you to fix this problem and many more, as it allows you to send your emails.
How to turn off Send to Gmail
The feature that allows you to cancel an email in Gmail after sending it is called Undo the submission. By default, this feature is disabled, so you must first enable it before you can start using it.
To turn off Sending to Gmail, follow these steps.
- Open Gmail and sign in to your account.
- At the top right of the window, select the file gear icon to open Configuration.
- Select See all settings.
- A la General tab next to the file Undo the submission, select the maximum range of 30 seconds.
- Scroll down and select Save changes.
Once you’ve enabled this feature, you can now cancel your email up to 30 seconds after pressing Send if you notice you’ve forgotten something or want to check the address line again.
How to cancel sending an email to Gmail
When you realize that you want to cancel a sent email, there are several ways to do so, depending on whether you’re using Gmail on your computer or smartphone.
How to cancel sending an email to your computer
If you’re using Gmail on your computer, follow the steps below to cancel sending an email.
- After hitting Send, find a menu bar at the bottom left of the screen.
- Select Undo from the menu bar.
- You will see one Sent undone confirmation on the screen. This means that you have successfully canceled your email.
If you did not receive confirmation, you were unable to cancel the email within 30 seconds and it is over. You can also go to Sent and see if your email is there to confirm.
After receiving confirmation of undoing the shipment, you will receive the original email again on the screen. You can make changes and resubmit them, save them as a draft for later, or delete them.
How to cancel sending an email using a Gmail shortcut
Since you only have 30 seconds to decide whether to continue sending or canceling this email, you can use a keyboard shortcut to send it with a single click. After selecting Send and to see the same menu bar appear, press Z on the keyboard to undo the shipment.
Then you should see the same thing Sent undone a confirmation message will appear on the screen. Note that this method will only work if you already have shortcut keys enabled in Gmail. You can do this through Configuration, the same General which you used to enable the file Undo the submission feature.
How to cancel sending an email to Gmail on your smartphone
You can also use the Gmail mobile app to cancel sending an email. To do this, follow the steps below.
- After hitting Send, select Undo at the bottom of the screen.
- You will see a message confirming the cancellation of the email.
Gmail will then return you to the original email window so you can edit, delete, or save it as a draft.
Fully control your emails
Gmail is a powerful email client because it gives you a lot of freedom and control over your emails. In addition to the ability to send an email sent to Gmail, you can also learn how to schedule your emails to be sent later or transfer your emails between different Gmail accounts. However, not all features are so obvious, and sometimes you need to learn hidden tips and tricks to better organize your emails.
Have you ever had to cancel an email you’ve already sent? What was your reason for doing so? Share your experiences with faulty emails with us in the comments below.